About the Authors

Ernest L. Boyer is President of The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching. He was U.S. Commissioner of Education from 1977 to 1979.

Lauro F. Cavazos is adjunct professor in the Department of Community Health at the Tufts University School of Medicine. He was U.S. Secretary of Education from 1988 to 1990.

Therese Knecht Dozier is a special advisor to the U.S. Secretary of Education on Teaching. Prior to joining the Department, she was teaching at Irmo High School in Columbia, South Carolina. In 1985, while she was teaching world history at Irmo High School, Dozier was named National Teacher of the Year.

Thomas Furtado is Corporate Ombudsman at United Technologies in Hartford, Connecticut

Manuel N. Gómez is Associate Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs for the University of California at Irvine.

Antonio Lasaga is Professor of Geology and Geophysics at Yale University in New Haven, Connecticut.

Vito Perrone is professor of Teaching Education and Learning Environments at Harvard University's Graduate School of Education.

Charles S. Serns is Principal of Hubert Humphrey Elementary School in Albuquerque, New Mexico.

Back to Table of Contents of the Summer 1994 Issue of On Common Ground

© 1997 by the Yale-New Haven Teachers Institute

© 2018 by the Yale-New Haven Teachers Institute
Terms of Use Contact YNHTI