

February 14, 2025 For immediate release



NEW HAVEN, CT - Twenty-six teachers from thirteen New Haven public schools have been accepted as Fellows of the Yale-New Haven Teachers Institute for 2025. For nearly fifty years, the Teachers Institute has offered its pioneering brand of content-based professional development to K-12 teachers in New Haven Public Schools. Teachers named Institute Fellows participate in one of our seminars led by a Yale faculty member. They receive a Yale ID card, borrowing privileges at University libraries, and access to campus facilities and resources. Throughout the spring, they will attend their seminars, as well as talks and workshops. As part of the program, Fellows develop a curriculum unit designed specifically for their students, which they will teach in their classrooms the following school year. Since 1978, 833 New Haven Public Schools teachers have written 2,158 curriculum units in 244 Institute seminars led by 138 Yale faculty.

2025 Institute Fellows

- Rita Begines-Cid, Hillhouse
- Nancy Bonilla, Clemente
- Carol Boynton, Edgewood
- Salvador Calatayud Ripoll, Wilbur Cross
- Carmen Cordova-Rolon, Clemente
- Daniel Croteau, Barnard
- Lisa Finch, Ross Woodward
- Eve Galanis, ESUMS
- Maria Gomez Lopez, Truman
- Sean Griffin, Clemente
- Nadiya Hafizova, ESUMS
- Charnice Hoegnifioh, Wilbur Cross
- John Kennedy, East Rock

- Ke'Von Lee, ESUMS
- Hanna Marshall, New Haven Academy
- Maria Medianero, Davis Street
- Jaimee Mendillo, Nathan Hale
- Kasalina Nabakooza, Truman
- Natalie Ochoa, Hillhouse
- Jessie Piper, Metropolitan Business
- John Saksa, Hillhouse
- Allison Sanchez, Hillhouse
- Matthew Schaffer, ESUMS
- Stephanie Smelser, Worthington Hooker
- A'Lexus Williams, Career
- Catherine Yates, Cooperative