University Advisory Council

The University Advisory Council is a presidentially-appointed body of Yale faculty members that guides the general direction of the program and acts as a course-of-study committee so that the Institute can certify Fellows' work to institutions where they may be pursuing advanced degrees.

The Council also advises the Yale President on the Institute and, more generally, on matters concerning the University's involvement with schools locally and with public elementary and secondary education nationally. Between meetings the work of the Council is carried forward by its Executive Committee, all members of the Council, also appointed by the President.

Honorary Chair

Howard R. Lamar


Jessica C. Brantley

Paul E. Turner

Executive Committee

Gary W. Brudvig

W. Mark Saltzman


  • Rolena Adorno
  • Sarbani Basu
  • Ned Blackhawk
  • Jeff Brock*
  • Jill Campbell
  • Marvin M. Chun*
  • Lynn Cooley*
  • Tarek Fahmy
  • James Forman, Jr.
  • Bryan Garsten
  • Heather Gerken
  • Susan L. Gibbons*
  • Larry Gladney
  • Kimberly Goff-Crews*
  • Anjelica Gonzalez
  • Langdon L. Hammer
  • Daniel HoSang
  • Matthew Jacobson
  • Mary T. Y. Lui
  • John MacKay
  • Jordan Peccia
  • Brigitte Peucker
  • Stephen J. Pitti
  • Joseph R. Roach
  • Peter Salovey
  • Edwin C. Schroeder*
  • Margretta R. Seashore
  • Ian Shapiro
  • C. Megan Urry
  • John P. Wargo
  • Stephanie Wiles*
  • Anders Winroth
* ex officio